Fighter Squadrons Branch

About Fighter Squadrons Branch


In 1971, the “Kitty Hawk Squadrons' Association” was formed as an offshoot of the original "No 77 Squadron Association" which was established in June 1953.

Since WWII, a number of individual and independent associations sprouted to accommodate the needs of ex-members. These associations were largely squadron-centric owing to the members' (mostly WWII veterans) strong sense of connection and identity with their particular squadrons. Since the mid-sixties, however, this strength of identity has diminished to a degree because of more diverse involvement with several squadrons and/or aircraft types.

In 1976 the “Kitty Hawk Squadrons' Association” was renamed the “NSW Fighter Squadrons' Branch”. This was the first attempt to establish a "combined association" concept. Such a change not only broadened the scope of membership by excluding reference to aircraft type, but based on the logic that the common thread was their fighter squadron heritage, it was envisaged that this organisation could fulfil the needs of camaraderie for all older and younger-generation members who served within the many fighter squadrons in existence.


The Fighter Squadrons' Branch (FSB) is now a fully established branch of its parent body namely "The Australian Flying Corps and Royal Australian Air Force Association (New South Wales Division) Incorporated" - or RAAFANSW. Naturally, all members of the FSB are fully subscribed members of the RAAFANSW.

The FSB is not an independently constituted, incorporated or otherwise, organisation. Accordingly, the statutory functioning of the FSB is fully governed by, and subordinate to, the constitution of the RAAFANSW Incorporated.


The broad charter of the FSB is to:

  1. foster ongoing camaraderie among all members past and present of the fighter squadrons' community;
  2. promote welfare of and assistance to the members of the branch and their dependents;
  3. disseminate information, news, reports and notices of a general, various or specific nature originating from RAAFANSW and/or other sources;
  4. plan, coordinate and conduct reunions, formal and social events;
  5. maintain a website-based comprehensive database of past and present kinsfolk of the fighter squadrons' community; and
  6. provide limited financial assistance to kindred and affiliated organisations and groups.


In 2003, following requests from some of the independent associations, the FSB committee established and formalised the “umbrella” concept - a concept where the FSB sits in a focal position relative to a cluster of individual and independent squadron associations, thus providing a linkage for embracing the fighter squadrons' fraternity as a whole.

In late 2004 the Fighter Squadrons' Branch website was launched, with the home page graphically illustrating implementation of this concept. From an original eight associations, some eleven groups now populate this cluster.

The policy adopted for operation of this concept was that the FSB simply operates in a supportive rather than a governance sense in respect of members of the cluster. In other words, each of the independent associations remains autonomous within itself and operates accordingly, whilst enjoying the collective benefit afforded by linkage with the FSB.

The supportive goal of the FSB comprises not only services in respect of points 1-5 above but also financial support for specific squadron association projects.


Membership of the Fighter Squadrons' Branch is open to all individuals belonging to the community of past and present members of Fighter Squadrons. Applications to join are made through RAAFANSW


Alwyn Quoy
Ken Hitchcock
Jack Lynch
Dick Gregory
Dave Bowden
Dave Leach
Ian Whisker
Bruce Connell
Mike Lavercombe

1969 - 1985
1985 - 1987
1987 - 1990
1990 - 1996
1996 - 2003
2003 - 2005
2005 - 2009
2009 - 2015
2015 -

Hon Secretary:
Geoff Peterkin
Mob: 0406 186 926